Forum

Thread tagged as: Discussion

Using Docker with Runway discussion thread

On the Runway blog I've written up a basic workflow for using Docker for local development environments. This thread is for any discussion of that, or tips from anyone who is already using Docker.

I'm pretty new to Docker myself so not an expert, but I'm really enjoying using it for Runway builds.

Rachel Andrew

Rachel Andrew 394 points

• 4 years ago

Rachel. Thank you so much for this... I wonder if I could get some advice/help on getting this to work... I thought everything was working until I tried to add images through perch assets... So I think I have image processing issues with my docker install... When I add an 80k image, everything works fine... When I go to add a 400k image, everything looks correct in the process, but once complete, there is no image in assets...

What I do get is 2 files in the resources directory... the image I'm trying to upload and then a zero byte file named _gd_tmp_WpON1T... So image processing must be failing...

I'm using the docker files you created (with php7) changing only the local parameters and the latest version of perch/perch runway.

Diagnostics reports Image processing available, phpinfo shows GD is enabled and max_file_upload at 2M so I'm at a loss as to what might be the issue...

Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

Is there anything in the logs?

For the smaller images, do the thumbnails get produced correctly? (That should be an indication if GD is working.)

Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

Depending on the pixel dimensions and colour depth of the 400k image, you could be just running out of memory. I'd suspect 128Mb would be enough, but is that actually available? Perhaps try increasing the available and allocated memory to the PHP process.

Rachel Andrew

Rachel Andrew 394 points
Perch Support