Forum

Thread tagged as: Problem, Error

Create pages from master page

I am very new to perch and I'm getting extremely frustrated with not being able to figure this out. Perhaps I don't understand how this works? I thought people could create pages on the fly based on a template. But it seems to me that the page has to exist first for perch to recognize it. How can new pages be added on the fly to a live site if that is the case?

I want the editor to be able to create pages from a master page. I have done the following:

1 - created a master page with perch regions

<?php include('perch/runtime.php'); ?>
<!doctype html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta charset="utf-8" />
    <title><?php perch_pages_title(); ?></title>
    <?php perch_page_attributes(array(
    'template'=>'default.html'
    ));
?>
<!-- Bootstrap core CSS -->
    <link href="../../../css/bootstrap.css" rel="stylesheet">
    <!-- Custom styles for this template -->
    <link href="../../../css/styles.css" rel="stylesheet">
    <!-- HTML5 shim and Respond.js IE8 support of HTML5 elements and media queries -->
    <!--[if lt IE 9]>
      <script src="js/html5shiv.js"></script>
      <script src="js/respond.min.js"></script>
    <![endif]-->    
    <!-- Custom styles for the parallax -->
    <link href="../../../css/demo.css" rel="stylesheet">
     <script src="js/demo.js"></script>      
<link href="//netdna.bootstrapcdn.com/font-awesome/4.0.3/css/font-awesome.css" rel="stylesheet">
        <!-- jQuery (necessary for Bootstrap's JavaScript plugins) -->
    <script src="../../../js/jquery.min.js"></script>
        <script src="../../../js/bootstrap.min.js"></script>
        <script src="../../../js/jquery.validate.js"></script>
</head>            
 <section class="module parallaxTop parallax-1"></section> 
<section class="light_section content">
    <div class="container">
        <div class="row">
            <div class="col-sm-10 col-sm-offset-1">
             <?php perch_content('Top Intro'); ?>