Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Problem, Runway

Iterative loop with Collections?

I have a "master" Collection called "Properties" and another Collection called "Localities". In Perch admin I've related related each Property to a particular Locality. The site structure looks like this:

Home
_Locality A ("Metropolis")
__Property 1
__Property 2
_Locality B ("Gotham")
__Property 3
__Property 4
etc.

On my home page, I need to build a navigational section that looks like this:

<perch:before>
<h3><perch:related id="parent_locality" collection="Localities"><a href="/<perch:content id="locality_slug" type="slug" />/"><perch:content id="locality_name" type="text" /></a></h3></perch:related>
<ul >
</perch:before>
<li><a href="/<perch:related id="parent_locality" collection="Localities"><perch:content id="locality_slug" type="slug" /></perch:related>/<perch:content id="property_slug" />/"><perch:content id="property_name" type="text" /></a></li>
<perch:after>
</ul>
</perch:after>

I can get the above template to work if I hard-code one filter value (e.g., "metropolis") in my home.php layout:

perch_collection('Properties', [
    'template' => 'home-our-centers.html',
    'filter' => 'parent_locality.locality_slug',
    'match' => 'eq',
    'value' => 'metropolis',
    'sort' => 'parent_locality.locality_sort',
    'sort-order' => 'ASC',
  ]);

But of course what I really want is to repeat that pattern for each related Locality dynamically.

How do I iteratively loop that perch_collection and insert the locality_slug as the filter match value for each related Locality?

I apologize for my weak PHP-fu and thank you for your assistance!

Joel Davies

Joel Davies 0 points

• 4 years ago
Rachel Andrew

Rachel Andrew 394 points
Perch Support

You probably need to use a callback function, there is an example here https://docs.grabaperch.com/runway/collections/callback-functions-with-each/