Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Events

Events app still supported?

Hi Drew,

Do your responses to questions about the events app imply that it isn't something that is going to get further development? I am very new to perch and have been able to get most things to work following the excellent videos and documentation. I have the blog running nicely but don't seem to be having much luck with the events app. At the moment I can't even get a calendar to show using the default templates that come with the app.

Would I be better just integrating an external calendar like a google calendar into the site? This is what I did on the current non-perch version of my site but one of the reasons for choosing Perch was that it would enable me to steer away from using external widgets and plugins to deliver content.

My requirement is to show events like baking course dates and subjects, which breads are baked on different days (I was hoping there would be a way of entering repeating events but haven't worked that one out yet), weekly pizza night specials etc etc. (I run a bakery, can you tell!!??).

Thanks in advance for any tips and thanks for such a great CMS, I have really enjoyed learning how to use it.

Andrew

Andrew Auld

Andrew Auld 0 points

• 3 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

The history is that the Events app was one of the first apps we developed in 2009 for Perch 1. Back then, Perch was a far more simplistic tool that didn't have the flexibility it has now, and so dedicated apps were needed to created filtered listings and such.

With Perch 3, I think the only reason you'd need the Events app is if you wanted that dedicated 2D calendar month grid view. That's otherwise quite tricky to do with a template.

For all other purposes, Events lags behind and I wouldn't recommend it.

Thanks for the reply Drew.