Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Configuration, Forum

A few basic questions - licenses, privacy, validation

Hi, just bought Perch Runway Dev to mess around with, and see if Perch will suit a website build I'm doing for a friend, a small e-store gallery.

I'm a frontend dev/design guy. After looking through the documentation it looks manageable and suits the way I like to build. If goes well on dev I will organise an additional Perch license for my friend's live site.

A few quick questions if I may...

1. If I buy an additional normal version of Perch for my friend's site, can I transfer the license name to her later once the site is all done and live? It would be easier if I manage it first then hand it over later. I'm hoping I can just update the name and email field later in account settings?

2. I'm developing 'locally' on a NAS server of the kind 'https://192.168....' what would I put as the domain in the license settings? Still 'localhost'?

3. What if any Perch-server dependency is there? Surely none from the website frontend, but what about the backend CMS? What sort of validation checks happen and how often? If for some reason Perch.com or whatever validation server is down, does my website go down on the frontend? Does it go down on the backend? I'm guessing the validation check happens once each time when logging into Perch on the CMS side? Is there any other "calling home" processes sending back usage data to Perch or anything else of interest? I did read the terms but couldn't see anything particularly about validation.