Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Runway

Speed up collection display

Hi

I've got a long list/detail page that groups a collection item (herewith called product) into categories. The client wants all the products on one page (I know!) - there are 100. I wondered if there was a better way to display the products than the code I've written below?

The current code cycles through the categories, displays some category blurb and then displays products in those categories. There are seven categories.

Each collection item is only displaying a thumbnail and title on the list page.

Basically it's taking a fair bit of time to read the details page and return the data for each product as it cycles through the categories. Currently the page is about 5 or 6 seconds before it finishes loading! Not ideal but I understand it's doing a lot of querying.

The first bit of the if code only triggers when a category is filtered through the url so isn't relevant here.

I'm not a php expert by any stretch of the imagination so would appreciate any pointers to speeding up the page!