Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Blog

Using alternative blog templates

Sorry - I've looked around for this, but can't find any documentation.

We've now got sections, and I think I heard it mentioned during one of the podcasts (it may have been a dream on a hot sleepless night) that you could use a different blog template for different sections. That's what I want to do, with one section currently for topical features, and another to be used for job listings. I've created a job post template and put it into the 'posts' folder, but can't see how to use this. When creating a new post I don't get given a choice. How does this work?

Thanks

Mallen Baker

Mallen Baker 0 points

• 7 years ago

I've never done that before but found this in the docs

<?php
    perch_blog_sections(array(
        'template' => 'my_section_template.html',
    ));
?>

Docs

Sorry if it's not what you was looking for

Thanks for the reply - I did see the page on perch_blog_sections but it seemed to be a way of listing sections rather than attributing templates to specific sections - and the example you've given above is pointing to a template to handle the listing of sections. Else I'm not clear where you would even use that line of code!

HI,

Not sure if this is what you are after, but you could try creating a different page template listing and detail page for each blog section, then use perch_blog_custom to set the list and detail template. Example from a list page below:

<?php
                    perch_blog_custom(array(                                
                    'sort' => 'postDateTime',
                    'sort-order' => 'DESC',                                                                
                    'template' => 'post_in_list.html',    // change to your template
                    'paginate' => true,
                    'count' => 8 ,
                    'page-links' => true,