Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Third-party

How to Add Google Adwords code

Hi

I have been asked to add cost per click code to our Perch pages. I ran a search and can only find a result for how to add Google Analytics.

Please could someone let me know if I need to add code or use a app?

Any help is hugely appreciated

Deb Harrison

Deb Harrison 0 points

• 3 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

You can use a regular textarea field, just add the attribute html="true" to stop the code being escaped.

Hi Drew

I am a complete newbie to perch. Where would I add this?

Drew McLellan

Perch Support

Have you built a template?

No I haven't.

Hussein Al Hammad

Hussein Al Hammad 105 points
Registered Developer

Hello Deb,

I have been asked to add cost per click code to our Perch pages.

It sounds like you already have a website set up (perhaps built by someone else given you haven't built a template yourself?).

I am a complete newbie to perch. Where would I add this?

The Getting Started series is a good place to start if you're totally new to Perch.

This is a textarea field with html="ture" like Drew suggested:

<perch:content id="adwords" type="textarea" label="Google Adwords" html="true" />

Hi Hussein

Yes this is an existing website that has already been set up and has Perch in place.

This clear needs to be added to the template itself. From teh getting started videos its clear that Perch only edits the actual page content.

Hussein Al Hammad

Registered Developer

What you edit doesn't have to be page content. The following is the default Google Analytics template that comes with Perch:

<script type="text/javascript">
  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', '<perch:content id="uacode" type="text" label="Web property ID" help="UA-XXXXX-X" />']);
  _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);

(function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;