Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Discussion

Using template for contacts

Hi, I've created a content template to display staff details, this includes email addresses. What I'd like to do is not display the email address on the page and instead use the 'id' of the contact to grab the email address out of the database and use on a form to email the member of staff. What's the best approach?

Jon H

Jon H 0 points

• 6 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

How are you handling the form submission?

Jon H

Jon H 0 points

I was going to use normal php code to handle the forms as I have no experience of the forms add-on.

Drew McLellan

Perch Support

Content tags are parsed before form tags, so you should be able to generate the options of a form field using regular content tags.

<perch:input id="send_to" type="select" options="<perch:content id="people" type="dataselect" page="/people.php" values="_id" options="first_name, last_name" />, " />
Jon H

Jon H 0 points

Not sure what you mean Drew? I have a page that lists the staff and on that page I want a link like 'Send Jon a message' that contains the id of the person (contact.php?id=3 for example). This then loads the email address from the database and uses a form and php to send the message.

Drew McLellan

Perch Support

Ok, yes that would work.

$person = perch_content_custom('People', [
    '_id' => perch_get('id'),
    'skip-template' => true,
]);
Jon H

Jon H 0 points

Hi Drew, is it possible to dynamically set the to email address in the form add-on? I'd like to use the add-on using one form and passing an id, retrieving the email address as above, then setting the to email address in the form? Can this be done or am I best sticking with php?

Drew McLellan

Perch Support

Yes, you can do that - see the instructions in the sidebar when configuring the form options.

Jon H

Jon H 0 points