Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Runway

Add Search to Navigation Bar

Hello

This is my first project with Perch and I am working through is issue as I go, this one has stumped me though. I am struggling to insert a search bar within the navigation area, I am using Foundation 6 as a base. I think the issue is that item.html is an html file and not a php file, if I change item.html to php file nothing appears in the output html. Is there a way to include item.php? or is there a better way of doing this? The code I have so far is:-

item.html:-

<perch:before><section class="navigation" role="navigation"><!-- navigation --></perch:before> <perch:before><div class="top-bar"></perch:before> <perch:before><div class="top-bar-left"></perch:before> <perch:before><ul class="menu"></perch:before> <li><a class="<perch:pages id="pagePath" urlify="true" /><perch:if exists="ancestor_page OR current_page"> selected</perch:if>" href="<perch:pages id="pagePath" />"><perch:pages id="pageNavText" /></a><perch:pages id="subitems" encode="false" /></li> <perch:after></ul></perch:after> <perch:after></div></perch:after> <perch:after><div class="top-bar-right"></perch:after> <perch:after><?php perch_search_form(); ?></perch:after> <perch:after></div></perch:after> <perch:after></div></perch:after> <perch:after></section></perch:after>

search_form.php:-

<ul class="menu"> <?php $query = perch_get('q'); perch_content_search($query); ?> <li class="has-form"> <div class="row collapse"> <div class="small-9 columns"> <perch:form id="search" method="get" action="/search_results.php"> <input type="search" id="q" placeholder="Search"> </div> <div class="small-3 columns"> <button class="expanded button" type="submit" value="Go"><span><i class="fa fa-search"></i></span></button> </div> </div> </perch:form> </li> </ul>

The output html:-