Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Problem, Installation

Running Perch on Localhost (MAMP)

Hi,

I have installed Perch Runway into the public folder of a new site, on my local hard drive and I am using MAMP to run the localhost. I've run the setup and everything ran smoothly (no errors). I can log into the site and everything looks fine. I created a .htaccess file as instructed and placed this in the root directory.

When I click the view page by the default home page, it takes me to the directory I use to store all my local sites. In this case, Users/Grant/Sites. However, when I manually enter the local url into the browser window, https://localhost/120-globe-library-website/Public/ I receive a 'Sorry, that page could not be found.' error.

This is my first time installing Runway on a localhost, so will freely admit I've probably done something stupid! Help would still be appreciated

Grant Smith

Grant Smith 0 points

• 3 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

You should point your virtual host to the site root. Someone might be able to suggest how you do that with MAMP.

MAMP is pointing at Sites, that isn't the issue, I'm running other php sites in 'sites' and they work fine. In any case, when I navigate to https://localhost/120-globe-library-website/Public/ I receive a 'Sorry, that page could not be found.' error. Hence I believe this is linked to Perch, not MAMP

Hi,

Just found the debug mode, hence thought this may help?