Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Problem, Configuration

Templates and Master Pages

Hello, I am new to Perch... very new. But having said that, I feel I'm a fast learner and quick to catch on.

I have made one very small site in Perch, where each of the 7 individual pages the site contained, had their very own individual PHP "template" file. I could retrospectively edit that "template" to add in a new Perch Content element and by front-end browsing to that template's URL, I could give it a refresh and then see the new Perch Content element appear within the page's Admin.

Now I'm trying to work on a larger site, where a whole group of pages will run off of a single "template", where the differing content added into the Perch Content elements will make Page1 different to Page2, despite both running off of one "template".

I was assuming that was where Perch Master Pages would come in and a Master Page would basically be a template that multiple Perch pages to be built from. But now I'm less sure. From what I'm seeing, a Master Page itself actually needs to have a Perch Page that the Master Page takes reference from.

So, I'm now at a point where I seem to have 2 templates... #1 inside the root directory of the Perch site, from which I have a Page within Admin, and then #2 inside Perch > Templates > Pages and template #2 is creating the Master Page... But then I need to setup the Master Page, so that it copies the regions from the page I made from template #1. Does that sound right? It seems excessively convoluted.

So, to state again, I'm after the simplest way to make a single Perch Template file, which can be used to create any number of pages within Perch, where the Perch Content elements within the template are filled with differing content page-to-page.

Cheers, m.

Martin Lowe

Martin Lowe 0 points

• 2 years ago

I have watched this video - https://youtu.be/tcLxY1S25xY - which seems to corroborate the idea that I'm actually making: