Forum

Thread tagged as: Problem

Struggling to retrieve blogSlug from post

I am new to Perch. I am building a site which has two separate blogs (knowledge and perspective). The posts from these blogs utilise the same template, post.php and the design includes a next and previous navigation to loop through posts of the same blog.

I am therefore facing the challenge of retrieving the current blogSlug such that I can pass it into the perch_blog_custom function when retrieving the next and previous links.

My code is as below:

<?php

$post = perch_blog_custom(array(
          'filter'=>'postSlug',
          'match'=>'eq',
          'value'=>perch_get('s'),
          'skip-template'=>true, 
        ));

//echo var_dump($post);

$date = $post[0]['postDateTime'];

$blog = perch_blogs(array(
          'filter'=>'blogID',
          'match'=>'eq',
          'value'=>'6',
          'skip-template'=>true
        ));

//echo $blog[0]['blogSlug'];

$prev = perch_blog_custom(array(
          'count'=>1,
          'filter'=>'postDateTime',
          'match'=>'lt',
          'sort'=>'postDateTime',
          'sort-order'=>'DESC',
          'blog'       => 'knowledge',
          'value'=>$date,
          'template'=>'blog/post_prev.html'
        ), true);

$next = perch_blog_custom(array(
          'count'=>1,
          'filter'=>'postDateTime',
          'match'=>'gt',
          'sort'=>'postDateTime',
          'sort-order'=>'DESC',
          'blog'=> 'knowledge',
          'value'=>$date,
          'template'=>'blog/post_next.html'
        ), true);

?>

The problems I have appear to be the following:

1. My ability to var_dump the output of queries seem to execute once and then due to caching potentially just return "String" or "Array" or even just "A" and not the object contents itself meaning that debugging this issue is very difficult, even after discovering define('PERCH_DEBUG', true);. How do people inspect returned objects like this in Perch?