Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Installation, Configuration

MAMP and Perch

Hi there! I've been following the "How can I install a server to run Perch on my computer?" article and it says i should be setting up a VirtualHost by going through Terminal. I already have another site in there so I assume I need to set up VirtualHosts if I am to install my perch site in there too.

Can I not just copy my new perch site into the htdocs folder inside MAMP and point in towards a different database?

Sorry I'm just a designer and don't know what a VirtualHost is exactly or why I need it set up as the other site already works fine from copying it into htdocs.

Thanks for any help

Jake

Jacob Lee

Jacob Lee 0 points

• 6 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

If you want to make life easy, MAMP PRO just has a point and click interface for setting up multiple sites. That could be a good option.

Ben Furfie

Ben Furfie 3 points
Registered Developer

I'd second Drew in recommending MAMP Pro. It'll make your life much easier and remove a lot of the technical aspects from setting up Perch (and any other site) locally.

Hey I appreciate your responses but generally like to know why stuff works. I think I'm nearly there but my vhosts.conf file has the NameVirtualHost *:80 set already but all the examples I see don't reference this part so not sure whether to comment it out or not.

Will get there - just a shame there's not more documentation on it as would have thought most people would practice with Perch locally

Ben Furfie

Ben Furfie 3 points
Registered Developer

So the *:80 is a port number. You can change it if you want, but it's usually used as a way of serving several different websites to the same address. Think of them as extension numbers off a master phone number. The best thing to do is leave it is as *:80 to avoid running into using a port that's already in use and the headaches that can cause.