Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Problem

Navigation / cruftless links

I am pretty new to Perch dev and enjoying the simplicity. However I have a little problem with a site navigation.

I have not used perch pages before. My problem is:

Home page is index.php about page is in a sub folder /about-us/index.php All other pages are treated the same

When I use perch navigation I get

<ul>
    <li><a href="/sitedev/">Home</a>            
            <ul>
        <li><a href="/sitedev/about-us/">About us</a></li>
            <li><a href="/sitedev/client/">Client Services</a></li>
        <li><a href="/sitedev/register/">Candidate Services</a></li>
        <li><a href="/sitedev/contact-us/">Contact us</a></li>
        <li><a href="/sitedev/register-form/">Register With Us</a></li>
            </ul>
        </li>
    </ul>

So all my pages are treated as subpages of Home...

I've created the basic website like this so that I don't get url's like "about-us.php'

Are there any recommended solutions for creating pages in this way an dave the navigation auto created?

my development site is at: https://renfieldsearch.com/sitedev/

Thanks advance Steve

Steve Counsell

Steve Counsell 0 points

• 6 years ago
Rachel Andrew

Rachel Andrew 394 points
Perch Support

The main problem is that you are developing in a subfolder. You should point a subdomain at your site so that you do not change root when you go live, that's likely to cause you problems.

Thanks for the pointer Rachel.

The client does not have access to subdomains. What are the issues I'll face moving the site up to the domain root? I assumed that I'd just change the config.php login path ...

FROM - define('PERCH_LOGINPATH', '/sitedev/admin'); TO - define('PERCH_LOGINPATH', '/admin');

Is that not correct?

What about the URLs without .php; is the subfolder for every page causing the navigation problem? How do other people develop that?

Thanks in advance Steve

Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points