Forum

Thread tagged as: Question, Runway

How to show most recent content on one page from two different collections?

I'm new to Perch Runway. Building a website that has two collections of posts — blog and news. Each collection has published date. I want to display on homepage only content from collection that has most recent published date.

For example: If I publish today new post in blog collection, I need to show only that post on the homepage. If I post another article in a news collection tomorrow, I'd like to show only that article on the homepage.

Is it possible to do this kind of thing with Perch, and if yes, how? Thanks

Tomislav Jurisic

Tomislav Jurisic 0 points

• 4 years ago
Drew McLellan

Drew McLellan 2638 points
Perch Support

perch_collection(['Blog', 'News'], [
'sort' => '_date', 
'sort-order' => 'DESC',
'count' => 1,
]);

Thanks, Drew. Now, I'm in this situation. Here is the code, but now my homepage displays 0 articles. I know that something is not right with my code, but I don't see what....? :/ The problem is that every section has its own template

<?php
            'sort' => '_date',  
            'sort-order' => 'DESC', 
            'count' => 1, 
        ]);

perch_collection('Blog', [
            'template'   => 'blog.html',
            'sort'       => 'date',
            'sort-order' => 'DESC',
            'count'      => 1,
        ]);

perch_collection('News', [
            'template'   => 'news.html',
            'sort'       => 'date',
            'sort-order' => 'DESC',
            'count'      => 1,
        ]);
    ?>

Probably the comma at the end of the last key in each perch_collection.

'count' => 1,

Should be

'count' => 1

Tried that, nope. But I got strange result now. First field is empty, then, I got listed all the articles from first category, and then from other. All in one long list...?

I just want to display one item on the homepage, the one that has most recent published date

Use this one alone

<?php